Tags

, ,

Image

We probably will never know what Jonah looked like before he was swallowed by the great fish, but we can certainly get an idea of what he looked like after.  Being in a fish’s belly for three days and three nights had to do some serious damage to his skin tone. Not to mention the way he was dressed when he exited the fish. While in was in the fish’s stomach he purchased a new hat, for the bible states that sea weeds were wrapped around his head.  How about what he smelled like after the fish vomited Jonah onto dry land. I’m not even going there!  All because he refused to obey the Lord, and ran from His presence.

Have you ever been there? Where you not exactly looking that great, yourself? When I look in a mirror and my hair is messy (usually always the case) I comb it. If my face is dirty, I wash it. Wouldn’t it be great if we had a mirror that showed us how we look spiritually? Then we could clean up our appearance. Let’s be honest, most of us want to look our best when we go out.  Well actually we do, it’s called the Bible.

When I consider what Jonah looked like when he came out of the fish’s belly, I can see why Nineveh repented. Wouldn’t you? I pray that I can lead people to Jesus by the Holy Spirit, not because I’m scaring them by the way I look!  Today, let’s dress up spiritually and spare ourselves from Jonah’s great adventure.

One more point, but I must confess I’m not sure if it is true. It is said that Jonah never again went to a seafood restaurant  for dinner.

Just saying.